On Sunday, March 4, Years of Farming welcomes award winning Blue Highway at 2 p.m., at Double S Entertainment, 150 Foster Street, Flemingsburg.

Laurel River Line will be the opening band. Cost of tickets will be $15, available in advance or at the door. Children 12 and under accompanied by an adult are admitted free. Attendees will have the chance to win door prizes provided by our sponsors along with two tickets to the March 25 Years of Farming showfeaturing Flashback with The Price Sisters opening.

Blue Highway has earned 27 collective IBMA Awards, 6 SPBGMA Awards, one Dove Award, and three Grammy nominations as a band, plus two Grammy Awards among its current members. Blue Highway's No. 1 album"Original Traditional" was nominated for a 2017 Grammy Award for Best Bluegrass Album. Wayne Taylor was inducted into the Virginia Country Music Hall of Fame in October 2016. Tim Stafford received honors as 2014 IBMA Songwriter of the Year and 2015 SPBGMA Guitar Player of the Year. Shawn Lane was nominated as 2015 IBMA Songwriter of the Year, while Gaven Largent was nominated as 2016 SPBGMA Dobro Player of the Year. Blue Highway was voted the Favorite Bluegrass Artist of All Time by the readers of Bluegrass Today in April 2016.

The newest album "Original Traditional" released September 2016 and to date has topped multiple National Charts at No. 1 three times. Blue Highway charted the Most Radio Airplay of any Bluegrass Artist in 2014, per the 2014 Bluegrass Today Radio Airplay Chart, storming national airplay charts with their heralded album "The Game." It topped multiple charts at No. 1 including reigning at No. 1 for seven consecutive months on the Bluegrass Unlimited Album Chart, and was named the No. 1 Bluegrass Album of the Year by critic Daniel Mullins in his end of the year Top 20 Albums of 2014 list in Bluegrass Today.

As momentum continues to build for the 23-year strong powerhouse band, Blue Highway is rolling on with a rich legacy carried on by three powerhouse songwriters and vocalists in Tim Stafford, Wayne Taylor, and Shawn Lane, whose harmonies soar over the dynamic banjo of Jason Burleson and the explosive dobro of Gaven Largent. Back by popular demand, the opening band Laurel River Line originates from London. Founding members Matt Scarbrough on mandolin and Matt Kirby on guitar are joined by banjo player Malachi Smith and the newest member, bass player Dillon Abney. Many of their songs are their own originals. Laurel River Line has performed at many venues since they formed the band in 2007.

From day one our goal at Years of Farming is to not only promote bluegrass music in our area, but also to promote our local businesses. We are pleased to be sponsored by 46 local businesses that employ more than 500 people in our community including three other great festivals in our area. Most of our sponsors have sponsored all our shows we have scheduled since 2011.

If you are not familiar with any of our bands, whether a feature band or an opening band, check their websites and/or YouTube for some of their music and history and you will want to attend. Keep checking our website www.yearsoffarming.com for updates in our schedule. For more information or tickets you can contact Paula Hinton at 606-748-0798 or paulahinton2000@yahoo.com.