BROOKSVILLE -- With Wednesday marking the first day for individuals to file for the May 2018 primary election, several have already come out to do so.

In Bracken County, Deputy Judge-Executive and Fiscal Court Clerk Tina Teegarden, a Democrat, has filed for the seat of judge-executive.

Teegarden was sworn in as deputy judge-executive in October and planned to file for the judge-executive position after current judge-executive, Earl Bush, announced he would not seek reelection next year.

"I have been working towards this goal since 1997. I’ve dug my heels in and tried to gain as much experience and knowledge as possible while working with past judges, Judge Jett, Judge Newman, Judge Riggs and the current judge, Judge Bush. My experience, insight, dedication, and vision to Bracken County and the communities have prepared me to tackle the challenges."

Teegarden initially filed her letter of intent with the Kentucky Registry of Election Finance in October in order to announce early. She officially filed to run Wednesday at 8:45 a.m. in the Bracken County Clerk's Office.

Others who have filed in Bracken County included:

-- Count Clerk, Rae Jean Poe, Democrat and incumbent.

-- Magistrate District Two Augusta West, Craig Miller, Democrat.

-- Magistrate District Seven Milford, Doug Smith, Democrat and incumbent.

-- Magistrate District Eight Germantown, Dennis Jefferson, Democrat and incumbent.

-- Property Valuation Administrator, Tracey Florer, Democrat and incumbent.

In Lewis County, only one candidate had filed as of 11:45 a.m. Wednesday.

Lewis County Assistant County Attorney Ben Harrison, Republican, filed in the Lewis County Clerk's Office Wednesday morning.

Harrison has been the assistant Lewis County attorney since 2010 and practicing attorney at Stanley and Bertram, PSC in Vanceburg since 2009.

"I know well the duties and obligations of the Lewis County Attorney. Working in the County Attorney's Office for the last seven years has given me the experience to be the Lewis County Attorney," Harrison said. "I intend to be an advocate for and do my utmost to fight for law-abiding citizens, including those who just want to raise their family in a lawful environment here in Lewis County, without fear of crime."

Harrison said he believes he is right for the position as he already understands the needs of the job.

Get breaking news sent instantly to your inbox

"There will be no on the job training with me," he said. "I am ready to step up and do the job that the people of Lewis County expect. As County Attorney, I will ensure that the healthy working relationship continues to exist between the Lewis County Attorney's Office, members of the Kentucky State Police, the Lewis County Sheriff's Office, and the Vanceburg Police Department. I intend to continue to be an advocate for our law-abiding citizens. I will commit myself to prosecuting those who are a threat to our communities, especially those who are continued and habitual threats. My priority every day is to do what is right for the citizens of Lewis County and I will continue this priority as your County Attorney."

In Fleming County, those who have filed include:

-- County Clerk, Jarrod Fritz, Republican and incumbent.

-- Sheriff Gary Kinder, Democrat and incumbent.

-- Magistrate District Three, Stacey Vice, Republican.

-- Circuit Clerk, Amy Saunders, Democrat and incumbent.

-- Property Valuation Administrator, Michelle Butler, Democrat and incumbent.

The last day to file for the election is Jan. 30, 2018.


Load comments